Regular price £25.99
Unit price  per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.


É Soul Cultura Vol. 1 seemed to land at exactly the right moment. Post-lockdown,

optimism was back on the rise and the dance floors swelled again. For many listeners,

Manchester based DJ Luke Una's intriguingly woven pattern of new, old, rare and

under-discovered music from around the world became the soundtrack to

rejuvenated positivity. Piccadilly Records made the release their top compilation of

the year, with Rough Trade placing it as their number two. The enthusiasm from the

industry was mirrored by record buyers and demonstrated that in the right hands,

moving through genres, tempos and decades can make perfect musical sense.


This second volume gives another opportunity for Luke to share his journey of the past

four decades of staying up late and getting transcendental whilst listening to holy grail

music as the city slept. It at times ventures into the deeper, spiritual, soulful,

downtempo, experimental aspects of his tastes. From the conscious, street soul fusion

gospel of Veronica Mickie's 'Lost Children', to an excursion into Swiss, psych, progressive

rock in the form of Pyranha, then onto the classic Indian music-inspired electronic

workout of Andi Otto's 'Bangalore Whispers'. Luke hints at his softer side in Avis; a

sweet, obscure cover version of Minnie Riperton's 'Baby, This Love I Have', as well as

championing local heroes in the shape of Manchester's Yargo and their driving, obscure,

proto-house belter, 'Marimba'. There's also Japanese, electronic, slo-mo heaviness from

1979, courtesy of Bach Revolution. House music is integral to the É Soul sound

and is represented by Nav Aktah's deep remix of Mr Scruff, and then there's Isis 'In

Essense'; a track of such majestic brilliance that it has never left Luke's record bag.


The selection is eclectic, global, and plucked from different times and spaces. In theory,

perhaps they shouldn't work together, but there is a mysterious link that makes them

gel as a whole. That's what Luke does best. He creates a sort of musical alchemy,

unifying the diverse.

The much anticipated second volume of the compilation series curated

by Luke Una.

New, old, rare and under-discovered music from around the world. Feat. LFO,

Mr Scruff, Real Thing.

Double vinyl LP, Gatefold Sleeve, OBI Strip, Limited Edition Fanzine written

by Luke Una.


  1. Real Thing - Children of The Ghetto
  2. Avis - Baby, This Love I Have
  3. Veronica Mickie - Lost Children
  4. Rare Silk - Storm (Arp Duppy Chip Mix)
  5. LFO - Shove Piggy Shove
  6. Bach Revolution - D.E 108
  7. Andi Otto - Bangalore Whispers (feat. MD Pallavi)
  8. Unnayanaa & Irfan Rainy feat Ibtisam - Taht Min Aini (Alberghina Remx)* Vinyl Only
  9. Michael de Albuquerque - We May Be Cattle But We All Got Names
  10. Pyranha - Clepsydre
  11. Yargo - Marimba
  12. Okyerema Asante & Black Fire - Play a Sweet Rhythm on Them Drums (feat. Plunky)
  13. Mr. Scruff feat. Nke - Giffin (Taken re-edit Speechless dub mix)
  14. Isis - In Essense
  15. Frank Hatchett - Malibu Nites